Digital Skills Final Exam

MikeH Final

Journalism Skills taught at San Francisco State University

Journalism 226 has taught me many things this semester. Before ever taking this course, I was very limited in my digital skills, especially ones involving Macintosh computers. The first thing I can say I have almost mastered, is proficiency with MAC’s. I feel very comfortable navigating my way through one, finding specific programs buried in folders and using their unique programs like Audacity, FinalCut, and Soundtrack PRO.

Another skill I have mastered is editing video. I had previously taken 1 semester of Publication Lab, and we always had the option of editing audio or video. I had never really learned how to edit video at the time, so I spent most of my time on the audio side of things. After taking J226 however, Professor Baird taught us step by step over a few week period, first starting with great tips on how to shoot your video to make the editing process a lot easier. The gradual step-by-step process made the concepts sink in a lot more proficiently then trying to learn everything at once.

Thirdly, I feel like I have mastered the skill and concepts of social media. Social media like Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, etc., in this day and age can be a pretty overwhelming thing, but again Professor Baird taught the concepts step-by-step over the course of the semester. I had never used Twitter in my life and was putting off trying to learn it because frankly I was intimidated by it. But after weeks of learning concepts like hashtags, and RT, I felt extremely comfortable tweeting.

Overall, I think my best work was the hobby video. I feel like it’s my best work because I used all of the concepts taught to my by Professor Baird for video editing. I didn’t use transitions because the video was shot appropriately. I used music creatively changing the audio levels depending on what was occurring in the video.

Adult Internet Activity Survey

A survey was taken monitoring adults internet activity and usage. Out of 3,001 adults surveyed, 2,221 used the internet. I found the data interesting because the internet is still a relatively new concept and many adults don’t use it as much as the younger generation. If my editor assigned me a story about this information I would interview the people who took the survey. I would ask them how long each of them had been using the internet and use a bar graph to show the differences.

SFSU Students Thoughts on Royal Wedding

Royal Wedding
Original Photo Source, Photo by: Aurelien Guichard

SFSU students were asked if they thought the media coverage of the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton was adequate, too little, or too much. The interviewed students are: Sara Donchey, Kelly Goff, Chris Haire, Caitlin Olson, and Meghan Dubitsky.

Leave a Reply

