What I learned in Journalism 226- Digital News Gathering

Guadalupe González A photo of me during my J226 final.

Journalism 226 is a class that I greatly benefited from.   I’m glad I did not test out of the class when the option was presented because, although I was confident in my media skills, this class sharpened them and reinforced rules for great news presentation. And, yes, I did learn something!

The most important thing I think I learned in this course was the many service Google offers, and for free!  Google Docs pretty much is the basics of Microsoft Office, including Word and Excel.  It’s also great to have your files readily available online for whenever you need them, doing away with flash drives that are always getting lost.  And it’s also great that you can share you documents and files with other people, public or private.  Google Maps is another service that this class not only exposed me to, but I also learned many tips and tricks, like how to share the map, and how to adjust the settings to make it more presentable.  And by using Google spreadsheets, I relearned how to make graphs and charts, which are a very beneficial in news telling.

It was fun creating videos and audio pieces this semester, but my favorite and best work I did in the class was to build the Top 10 list.  It is something so easy, yet I had never done it.  I must admit that I had a difficult time coming up with a Top 10 idea that would be interesting, but once the idea came up it was real fun!  I had never used Creative Commons and wasn’t too sure about the rules of copyright, but this assignment made me an expert and even encouraged me to contribute to the public domain.

I highly recommend this class to anyone who feels they need to learn about digital news gathering or even just sharpen their skills.  I wouldn’t recommend it to a media master, but I will remind that technology is changing everyday and new services and software are being developed.  And to be a competitive, that mastery must be maintained!

How adults use the Internet for their health

Technology is changing how people interact with each other, and themselves.  The following chart is a diagram of information gathered by the Pew Research Center of the different ways adults use the Internet to manage their health.

This is interesting because many people use the Internet to look for information but this diagram shows on how people contribute to the information found online.  It is also interesting because these are small numbers compared to how much people use the Internet to seek information.

If an editor assigned me a story based on this report, I would write about how people consult information from medical consumers (patients) rather from “official” informational websites, such as a hospital’s website.  I would interview doctors, hospitals, patients, and reviewers.  I would use charts, and preferably only use audio along with a written story.  Video is interesting, but it is not essential in telling the story.

SFSU journalism students give their opinion about the media’s coverage of the Royal Wedding 
San Francisco State University journalism students are asked what they thought about the media’s coverage about Prince William and Kate Middleton’s wedding last month. This is what seniors Caitlin Olsen, Thomas Garcia, Eric Green, Ryan Smith, and Meghan Dubitsky said.

The new Royal couple (Day 194 of 365)

Photo credit Flickr/ Gene Hunt

Prince William and Kate Middleton tied the knot April 29, 2011.  The royal wedding was watched by people throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

