A Future in Music Journalism

There was always one reason that I became a journalist: music. Out of the murky depths of general education across three different colleges in two different cities, I found that the best way to be around this subject that I am most passionate about is to become a writer. As I have ventured further down the path of the journalist, I have come to appreciate the forms and approaches of and to story writing. I very much want to utilize those skills in pursuit of my interests, and online music journalism offers many choices and opportunities for aspiring music writers

Music was the main reason I got into writing. Since I was very young, I have always been drawn to the sonic creation and expression that much music represents. I have been constantly been inspired by aspects of many different genres and styles from all over the world, and I was very involved in the local music scene in Sacramento. I have played in many different musical projects. I have played shows in different cities throughout California and released multiple CDs, some home recorded and some mixed at a studio. I have never learned as much about anything as I learned about writing and performing music in my time in collaboration with others, the most notable of these being Fixed and Altair Echo from Sacramento, and Santa Cruz-based Paperstrapredux. These experiences have stayed with me in vivid form, creating a deep appreciation and love for composition and production of sonic audio constructions.

However, performing and producing music alone is hardly a viable career option, especially with the state of the music industry as it is today where even small or local independent artists have their CDs leaked months before they are to be released. Luckily, the other effect the Internet has had on the music business is the incredible growth of online music publications. Almost all music magazines from print giants like Rolling Stone and Spin, to upstart local prints like Sacramento’s hyper-local Alive and Kicking are all going or are already online. Additionally, personal and professional music blogs now offer endless opportunity to sample music, read reviews and watch video from even some of the most obscure artists and writers. The music industry is sprinting into the online world, and, though the Internet has effectively crippled traditional album sales forever, the web offers an amazing breadth of writing opportunities should I find myself lucky enough to land a job in this highly competitive field.

I understand that my aspirations are a long shot; when it comes down to it, so many people feel just as passionately as me. Still, music has always been the reason that I was inspired to write in the first place, and I am reluctant to back down in the face of competition and adversity. Ideally, I would like to work for a larger-but-less-mainstream publication that represents as much of the immense spectrum of the world of music like Pitchfork, an online publication that has a strong independent representation. However, I am open to anything as long as I am able to continue to focus on and write about what I am passionate about. With any luck, I will be prepared for this endeavor sometime in the not-so-distant future.

Leave a Reply

