Thoughts for the future

In recent years, most people have been becoming aware that the world of journalism has been changing drastically. With plenty of print newspapers going under and thousands of layoffs, the job market in the realm of journalism is looking dim. The prevalence of citizen journalism has been increasing and the number of reporters has been drastically cut back. The outlook seems to be dismal, but I still believe that there is room for me in the journalism job market.

I have been interested in news writing for the past five years, and I’ve been noticing over the years how print media has been going out of style. Plenty of people have stopped buying newspapers and switched to reading online blogs or accessing their news via web searches such as Yahoo News and Google News.

As a result, I have been changing my mind about what sect of journalism I am aiming to pursue. I have always wanted to be a news writer for a print newspaper, but in the past year I have heard too about how difficult it is to get paid for a news-writing job when plenty of citizen journalists are willing to blog about it for free.

Although I still want to somehow be involved in reporting and news writing, I have decided to direct my goals toward working for an online syndication. I want to be able to have as much experience in each field so that I can fill any holes or gaps in the job and eventually be capable of helping to be an editor/publisher of a smaller local news Web site. I’d like to have experience in reporting, writing, and editing, as well knowing my way around the Internet and understanding web languages such as HTML. If I were I publisher, I would need to have proper news judgment, as well as being able to organize information.

After doing some research, I have learned that I need to acquire many skills in order to pursue these kinds of goals. I plan on achieving my degree in journalism, but I also know that I’ll have to start at the bottom of the totem pole in order to work my way up. I plan on getting internships in order to get my foot in the door and gain the necessary skills to get better jobs. I’m sure that I’d also like to do some blogging and citizen journalism in order to gain experience as well as publicity.

The first skill I want to achieve is to have a firm grasp of AP style. I have been working on improving my AP style skills for the past year, but there are so many tiny details that matter and it will take longer in order to entirely master the technique.

I also need to learn more about online journalism techniques, since it is very likely that I will be pursuing an online syndication as opposed to a print newspaper. This would include learning how to edit audio and video, understand how to produce and maintain a Web site, and be able to use programs such as Photoshop, Final Cut, InDesign and whatever other programs that are necessary for the specific job. I am more or less experienced in all of these fields, but I am nowhere near an expert in any of them, so this is something for me to work on over the years.

One thought on “Thoughts for the future

  1. Pingback: Final Reflections « Digital Newsgathering

Leave a Reply

