Reflection

I chose to study journalism because it allows me to combine two things I absolutely love into one occupation: photography and learning about people.

My love for photography began at an early age and I truly fell in love with it in high school. However, instead of choosing to study photography in college, I chose photojournalism because of my love to learn about people.

One of the major reasons why I moved to San Francisco in the first place is because the vast diversity of people here fascinates me. I knew that as a journalist it would be part of my job to go out and meet people, talk to people, and write about them, and that is equally as appealing to me as photography.

As much as I would love to have a career as a full-time photojournalist, I know I would be content if ten years from now I had a different career and did freelancing on the side. However, if I were to imagine a dream job as a photojournalist it would be a job that allows me to write and edit as well as take pictures. I came across a photojournalist wanted ad that has a lot of what I would hope to look for in a job. Among other things, they require shooting as well as newswriting and editing. Looking at the qualifications, however, I know I have a lot to learn. One qualification says “Microwave ENG van experience desired.” I have no idea what that even means! It also has some qualifications that surprise me like needing to be able to lift 50 lbs and having a clean driving record. Apparently there is more to being a photojournalist than just knowing how to use a camera! I know I have a lot to learn in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

