My Story

By Jeremy Balan

Aren’t newspapers dying?

That’s the response I have received more times I can count when I bring up my major in a conversation.

The first thing that is wrong with that response is that, in fact, newspapers are not dying. They are changing.

That doesn’t mean they won’t die in the future, of course, but I’m not ready to dig their graves yet.

The main issue I have with the response, however, is that newspapers aren’t the only vessel to practice journalism any more.

While that might bother the old guard (some of which are professors at SF State), but it is the present, as well as the near future.

The vast majority or people from my generation do not read newspapers, however we are still reading news.

This makes my generation’s impact on journalism crucial. We are going to mold how the business operates and that is more than exciting.

That’s where my site fits in, a hyper-local high school sports web site called SanFranPreps.com.

Not only are we publishing multiple stories a day and supplying the only prep sports coverage in San Francisco, but we supply content to the San Francisco Examiner, one of those newspapers that is supposed to be dead.

I created the site in the winter, simply because their was a void in coverage. The local papers had given up on local high school sports and we took advantage. With traditional news media continually cutting back, limiting resources and reporters, these opportunities are going to be more and more present.

These opportunities are just one of the many ways the media is evolving and I’m glad to be a part of it.

Is this what I’ll be doing in five years? Probably not, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

