Because I want to

I love what good journalism is all about – finding a creative way to tell someone’s story. Asking the questions that others have always wondered. Bringing light into a seemingly dark situation. Being the reason there is change in the world.

Of course, that’s the positive aspects of journalism. I tell myself that at the end of the day, that’s what our stories will achieve.

Five years after graduation, I see myself anchoring at a news station or VJ-ing a show of my own. I really enjoying the adrenaline rush that comes with reporting news, especially on-air live news. Although I do enjoy print and online writing, there is an unique aspect that comes with broadcasting. You can show that extra emotion and intensity of a story when you add visuals to it.

They say that the industry is changing, which I am very aware of. As a result, I am trying to learn everything I can about this field so that once I am thrown out into the real world, I can handle any job that comes my way. I am completely positive that I want to pursue a career in journalism, so I will overcome any obstacle. Why? Well because if I don’t do it, then someone else will. Besides, the need for news will never die out.

I have already begun to learn the skills I need to succeed in this crazy world. It started when I chose to attend SFSU and be apart of its renowned journalism program. In addition, I have interned and currently work at several news stations/publications, allowing me to expand my skills. (My favorite story so far was written for CollegeCandy.com, where I interviewed Olympic speed skater J.R. Celski! I pitched this story and followed through with the interview myself. It was my first big piece.)

I will continue to ask the crucial questions and be very open minded. I know there is still much to learn and understand. I can’t wait to see where life takes me! So you wonder…why journalism? Because I want to.

Leave a Reply

