Why am I here, again?

Wating for class to start in HUM312

I am majoring in journalism because it seems to blend two things that make me really truly happy; writing and informing. I have always been a writer in some sense, but I’ve never been wholly satisfied by writing fiction or prose. I thought I would pursue a creative writing major when I was still in High School, and then I happened to take a journalism class. I instantly loved it, and in my senior year I became an editor on the school paper. I especially loved features and opinion writing.  I’ve always felt most proud of a story when I feel that the reader might have learned something they didn’t know before. I’ve been working on school papers since, and was an editor on the paper at the college I transferred from.

In five years after I graduate, I see myself living in San Francisco still. That is really as much as I could possibly predict, as every single time I do try to predict what I’ll be doing in the future I seem to either jinx myself or wildly underestimate myself. If someone had told me two years ago (or even six months ago) that I would be where I am today, I would have never believed them because I could have never imagined that I would have it so good. So, trying to even predict what I’ll be doing or where I’ll be in five years after graduation is a hollow exercise for me. I know I’ll be happy, and I know that things will only continue to look up after I complete my degree.

My ideal job would be something that would allow me to write for a publication that was in line with my interests and passions; I would love to eventually be a contributor or editor for a magazine like Adbusters or an online blog like Boing Boing. Ideally I would work a job that allowed me enough time to continue working in restaurants as a cook- something I am very passionate about and have been doing for years now. I will learn the skills that will make me a successful journalist by applying the same methods of thinking that made me a successful cook; ask questions if you don’t know what you’re doing, never never never miss a deadline (or an order…), and above all else be prepared with the knowledge that the industry you’re trying to get into and the work you’ll be doing will be incredibly difficult, challenging, thankless, and tiring. But it will probably be worth it.

Leave a Reply

