Why I study Journalism

sm-002

(Self portrait, Jerusalem 2010)

Hello, my name is Wes Rowe and this is my new blog. I am a 27-year-old photojournalist currently in my final semester at San Francisco State University. I started studying photojournalism here almost three years ago when I started to become dissatisfied with the direction of my photography. I had been working doing commercial and advertising photography for several years working primarily in the motor sports field. One day I while re-doing my website I realized that all of my photos were very selfish and created no good in the world. I felt like I was a very blessed person to live the life I had and I decided that I wanted to begin to give back with my photography. As a photo journalist I am most interested in working with under privileged and under represented groups of people and more specifically on topics of sex and gender. I big turning point for me and my photography was in 2010 when I decided to take a semester abroad at the Danish School of Journalism. This time allowed me to be exposed to many new types of photography as well as many photographers who have been very influential to me such as: Anders Petersen  http://www.anderspetersen.se/, Marcus Bleasdale http://marcusbleasdale.com/, and Kent Klich http://www.kentklich.com/. These photographers not only opened up new styles of approach and photography to me but also taught me how to be a successful freelance photojournalist. I think that for the kind of free-lance photojournalism work that I want to do there is a great need for the type of images I would like to create, for many of the topics I want to focus on are unseen and untold stories . I believe that through the spread of my photography I can create a recognition of the problem and spread that to people who would have otherwise not known about it. I thoroughly enjoy meeting new people and hearing there stories and spending the time needed to tell these stories through my photography. I believe that studying journalism has helped me understand how to communicate with people better, improved my research skills, and made me a more effective story-teller which in turn has made me a much better photojournalist.

Leave a Reply

