Voces Latinas: ¿Cuál es tu comida favorita? What’s your favorite food?

tacos de pollo

Photo Credit: lucianvenutian

No matter what language we speak, food is universal and all of us have a favorite food. And our favorite food always has reason for being a favorite.  In the following interview, I set out to find out some people’s fav foods back in my hometown of Sacramento, Calif. This is the first episode for a program I created called “Voces Latina”  (Latin Voices) where I conduct the interviews in my native language, Spanish, and seek to have the Latino community’s voice be heard. Enjoy and until the next time!

http://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F13562168 Voces Latinas: Tu comida favorita by juan-de-anda

English Translation Transcript:

Good Afternoon everyone, I’m Juan De Anda for “Voces Latinas”. And I’m at the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe located on the streets 7 and T, here in Sacramento.  We’re going around asking people what is there favorite food, something that they really savor and say hmmm. Let’s go see what people tell us!

Juan De Anda: In this moment, I find myself with Raul Navarro

Navarro: Like all Mexicans the most delicious thing there can be is a big bowl of pozole and some taquitos of carne asada or adobe meat. It’s simply the best. Delicious.

De Anda: Oh how delicious. I’m hungry now. Oh my God! What memories do these foods recall when you eat them?

Navarro: Well, I get a sense of melancholy because I miss my mom and they remind me of her who lives in Mexico.

De Anda: I’m here with Blanca Rodriguez who is from El Salvador.

Rodriguez: Well, our Salvadoran food for all Salvadorans are popusas because there is nothing like Salvadoran popusas.

De Anda: What do you put in your popusa so it will be perfect?

Rodriguez: Ayy, well, the Salvadoran popusas is made of refried beans, a special kind of chicharron (meat), and Salvadoran cheese. We eat popusas anywhere and everywhere because in honor that popusas are popusas!

De Anda: In this moment I find myself with Benancio de los Santos.

De los Santos: My favorite food is mole because it has many ingredients that come from our ancestors and I love it! It is one of my favorite foods.

De Anda: I’m here with Debby Olmos.

Olmos: My favorite food is tacos, especially those from here at the Shrine.

De Anda: And why? What memories do these foods recall? What sensations do these foods provide?

Olmos: Well, it reminds me of Mexico because in Mexico it is customary to go out and have late dinners out in the town.

De Anda: I’m here with Evelyn Torres.

Torres: My favorite food is orange chicken from Panda Express because it tastes sweet and spicy at the same time.

De Anda: And why do you prefer Panda Express rather than traditional Mexican food?

Torres: I don’t know because I get to eat Mexican food all the time.

De Anda: oh okay? How old are you?

Torres: 16

De Anda: Well, thank you very much Evelyn. I appreciate your time, opinion and frankness.

De Anda: As we have heard through these Latin voices, food has the power to transport us to our roots, memories, customs, traditions, and our family. Thank you for tuning in with us and remember, Voces Latinas will always listen to you. I’m Juan De Anda and until the next time.

Leave a Reply

