A Photojournalist’s Path to Internet Fluency

stressed

Digital News Gathering has been an important class for me in understanding journalism’s place in this increasingly interconnected world. Journalism is evolving as technology gets better, and a mastery of all things media is pretty much necessary if you want to be a journalist. Probably the most important thing I’ve learned in this class is Internet fluency. Digital News Gathering has given me the skills to navigate the Internet and utilize its various tools, while knowing where to look for content and audiences and how to think like a consumer of news.

The Internet and other technologies are amazing tools for journalists, but they definitely take time to master. At the beginning of the class, I was intimidated by the Internet and its complexities. I really wanted to master it, but didn’t know where to start. Thankfully, this class steered me in the right direction, and I have overcome my initial reluctance of journeying into the great beyond.

Learning WordPress has been immensely helpful. The Content Management System is more advanced than Blogspot, and confusing at first, but a valuable lesson learned in this class is to play around with Internet platforms, and to not be afraid of getting it wrong the first couple of times. WordPress is pretty much necessary for journalists, and through trial and error, I’m beginning to speak its lingo. The use of WordPress in this class inspired me to start my own blog, to further explore the platform, which led me to work more with other software like Photoshop and Flickr. I now feel more comfortable exploring the digital world after this class.

But navigating the Internet and its content management systems isn’t the only skill I’ve learned. I’ve begun to wrap my head around video, and feel comfortable about shooting and editing footage. As an aspiring photojournalist, knowing how to use video is incredibly important. It’s another skill I’ve neglected to learn, but now I feel like I’m getting the hang of it. I’m especially proud of my hobby video because It’s basically the second video I’ve ever edited, and I’m pretty impressed with the results.

A Chart: Adults who use social media for health information

It’s surprising to me how little adults use social media for health information. It seems to me like social media would be very helpful for immediate information on any given subject. For a story about this, I would interview adults and ask how feel about using social media for information. I could conduct my own research and create a similar chart of adults who use social media for information.

Audio: Thoughts on the royal wedding

Royal Wedding Flags
People stand around, waiting for the royal wedding to start near Westminister Abbey in London on April 29. Flags were handed out by the English newspaper, The Sun. Photo by Flickr user Garryknight

Kelly Goff, Chris Haire, Caitlin Olson, Thomas Garcia, Meghan Dubitsky, and Kelsey Avers give their thoughts on the media coverage of the much anticipated Royal Wedding of Kate Middleton and Prince William.

Leave a Reply

