@Therealderekc Masters #J226

Derek Chisamore in class
Derek Chisamore during the j226 final. Photo Credit: Derek Chisamore

Mastering J226: finding the love for audio, video, and photo while tweeting your little heart out.

There have been many things that I have learned while taking Journalism 226. Three things that I have pushed me to be a more creative and better journalist are: working with audio, video, and photos.

Audio is something that greatly scared me. Starting that portion of the class gave me a great deal of anxiety. The first day we worked with audio we were asked to stand in front of the class and do a mock audio interview. I remember sitting in my chair and praying that the clip with my voice on it would not be played. It was played and suddenly my body started to sweat and my mind went blank. I had felt like all eyes were on me, judging me. It was something that needed to happen. I needed to get out over that fear. After that it all seemed to be easy. I learned to accept the way I sounded recorded and eventually grew to like working with that audio. I love that I got to learn how to work with Garage Band better, which is an application that I have always wanted to learn better for my own enjoyment.

Having worked with audio allowed me to be more comfortable with video. I am a person who is greatly inspired by something that is visual, and video allowed me to explore that creative side of myself. While I may not have always been happy with my choice in topics for the videos, I have enjoyed learning how to edit it. Learning how to work with iMovie is probably the most beneficial for me, because I see myself working on TV one day.

Like video, the photo portion of the class is something that I was most inspired by. I think that the photo portion is the one thing that I have greatly shined at while learning how to think about it in a different way. It has taught me that although a photo maybe beautiful, there is still a story behind it.

These three things have allowed me to explore my own creative side, while learning how to master something that I had always dreamed about, but never attempted. This class has pushed me to do things that I have always been nervous to do, but now have mastered. The post that I am most proud of this semester is the audio story I did about a persons hobby. My article was titled “Video: Marlena Munoz, Mix Master“, and that one project combined all the things that I had learned all semester into one project. I love the photo I used for the story, and I love the way the video turned out. The colors and imagery over all are things that I am proud of.

Chart: Internet users and medical research


A study by Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project, explored the idea of using the Internet for medical research. The study was conducted by telephone and reached 3,001 adults between August and September 2010. The study found that only “80% of internet users have looked online for information about any of 15 health topics such as a specific disease or treatment. This translates to 59% of all adults.”

This information is surprising because only 80% use the Internet for medical research. It is surprising because health is something that should be a main priority and yet the users are not taping into this amazing resource. If I were assigned a story involving this topic, it would be to explore this idea of how and why people use the Internet as a research tool when it comes to medical information. I would start by conducting a similar version of this study and interview those individuals. I would find out why they use or do not use the Internet to access this information. The other questions featured in the survey would add to the complexity of the story. The story would feature charts illustrating all the different statistics found in the initial study, while comparing them with the text from my interviews. The photos would be minimal, but they would feature someone using the Internet, as well as screen shots of various websites mentioned in the text. A possible man on the street audio story could also be a great option for this story.

AUDIO: MOS – The Royal Wedding

Royal kiss
Prince William and Kate Middleton kiss at Buckingham Palace on their wedding day. Photo Credit: John Pannell

With the coverage of the marriage of Prince William and Kate Middleton, Journalism Professor Staci Baird took to the streets to ask SFSU students “What do you think of the media coverage of the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton? (Was it adequate, too little or too much?)”. The audio story features commentary from: Chris Haire, graduating senior; Kelly Goff, senior; Caitlin Olson, senior; Thomas Garcia, non-graduating senior; and Meghan Dubitsky, graduating senior.

Leave a Reply

