Great Expectations: Digital News Gathering Final

Ivanna_Portrait

WordPress and CMS

Three specific things that I learned in J226 Digital News Gathering this semester are how to use social media as a journalistic tool, how to shoot and edit video, and tips on recording audio and using Garage Band. Digital News Gathering really made me appreciate social media and respect the power it has in journalism. Before this class, I thought Twitter was a silly tool. This class taught me how to write news headlines for Twitter and how the platform can help journalists spread news and promote their work. I learned also how my Facebook was more than just a way to connect with friends, but a way for me to inform and show my work. Today, both my Twitter and Facebook look very different–most posts show various articles and links to news sites with commentary. J226 also taught me that when shooting video, it’s best to get a wide, medium and close-up shot. Also, to let the subject come in and out of the shot, rather than following the subject around with the camera. After shooting video, I learned how to edit the footage in iMovie–splitting shots and adding titles, transitions and credits. I recently bought a Flip and I can’t wait to use the tips I have learned to create more video. This class also gave me tips on recording audio, such as being aware of distracting noises and using ambient sounds and music to enhance the recording. I am thrilled that I know how to edit audio in Garage Band. I am ready for my next Man On the Street recording.

I am very proud of all the work I completed this semester, but I am most proud of the MOS: Thoughts on Four Loko. I am most proud of this work because I think it’s interesting, funny and informative. I also feel the people I interviewed are diverse and are representative of our generation.

Chart

According to Pew Research Center’s Internet and American Life Project, “the Internet has changed people’s relationship with information.” The project showed that while the a person’s doctor or medical provider continues to be the first source of health related information, many people are turning to the Internet to help with their health and medical concerns. The following chart shows findings that were conducted through a national telephone survey in August and September of 2010. This data is just one example of how the Internet changes our community. Based on this data, I think it would be interesting to see how many people rely on the Internet for health and medical related information. How often is it accurate? Does it create hysteria and result in harm? I could interview medical doctors, researchers and psychiatrists to find out how useful the information on the Internet is and its affect on the user. I could definitely incorporate charts, but I think a MOS audio could be interesting as well asking people how they use the Internet to find health/medical information and whether is it helpful.

Audio

Photo: ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. You can link to it, but you can’t embed.(note from Prof Baird)

Newly weds, Prince William and Kate Middleton, take carriage ride back to Buckingham Palace. Photo by: ajogg

In the following audio piece, Digital News Gathering professor Staci Baird asks San Francisco State seniors how they felt about massive news coverage of the royal wedding between Prince William and Kate Middleton. Interview features Kelly Goff, Chris Haire, Caitlin Olson, Thomas Garcia, Meghan Dubitsky, Kelsey Avers, Eric Green, Ryan Smith, and Sara Donchey.

Leave a Reply

