How to be a successful journalist: tips and tools learned in J226

It's final time in J226!!

My experience in Journalism 226 has been in interesting one, if not that. It started off a little rocky (Twitter wars between a professor and students) but I feel, has ended on a high note. I was able to learn the importance of involving questions in social networking posts (like Twitter and Facebook) and finally got the hang of doing so after numerous failed attempts. Learning how to engage my audience will allow me to succeed if I get into the online aspect of journalism.

I was also able to master the technique of an audio interview. I’m not one to be shy, but when you’re interviewing people and you haven’t really recorded it before, it can be nerveracking. You want to make sure that the area you’re interviewing the person in won’t provide an echo within the audio segment and you want to be sure that the person you’re interviewing stays on topic for the interview. In terms of audio, the work I am most proud of this semester was my interview with Professor Toland. He was an easy person to interview and I got an amazing story out of it!

Learning how to use iMovie and master the skills of uploading raw video and editing it to form a news segment has given me the opportunity to succeed in that area. I want to get into broadcast eventually, and taking Staci’s advice, I will be mastering my skills even more and creating a YouTube channel and reporting live from my house. This way, I’ll get even more practice using and improving my iMovie skills.

As a whole, this class has taught me the necessities to succeed out in the journalism world. Today, every reporter out there, regardless if it is newspapers, magazine or television reporters, need to know how to capture video, edit, conduct a successful interview, learn how to maneuever through a social networking site and many other things in order to succeed in the field. Without learning all these tasks, a journalist can easily fail.

How health matters are discussed within social networking websites

The data on the chart below is particularly interesting because as a consistent user of social networking sites, I have never really encountered a lot of people joining groups related to health issues. I guess it is because I’m only 21 and probably am doing other things. It shows how many people are incredibly involved in social networking sites. The phone survey asked 3,001 adults and the percentages are quite astonishing.

If my editor assigned me a story to this report I would easily head over to many medical or health clinics and services to see how often they use the social networking sites to get in touch with those who actually have medical problems and how they are helping. The chart demonstrates that people are donating money or commenting on medical issues and trying to create awareness and help those who are in need. A community outreach pertaining to medical issues could be interviewed, as well. I would incorporate charts, graphs, and photos into the article where it relates to what is being said. If online, it’s easier to incorporate interactive features (where you can go to help out, etc), however, in print, photos and graphs are easier to establish within a column.

Chart credit

Man on the Street – The Royal Wedding

Royal Wedding balcony
Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, Prince William and Princess Katherine on their wedding day in London at Buckingham Palace following the ceremony, overlooking the millions of people awaiting their arrival after their wedding ceremony.
Credit: Flickr/John Pannell

The Royal Wedding may have been the biggest wedding since Prince Charles and Princess Diana. But was it a little too much? The question asked to Kelly Goff (senior), Chris Haire (graduating senior), Caitlin Olson (senior), Thomas Garcia (non-graduating senior), Meghan Dubitsky (graduating senior), Kelsey Avers (graduating senior), Eric Green (graduating senior), and Ryan Smith (graduating senior), was “What do you think of the media coverage of the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton? (Was it adequate, too little or too much?)” The following SoundCloud clip has their answers to the question:

Leave a Reply

