What John Baker learned in Journalism 226

MugForJ226In this class, I learned about Flickr, including how to upload and tag sets. (At the top of the page: Yours truly.)

The work I am most-proud of from this semester’s Journalism 226 class is probably the man-on-the-street audio interviews I conducted back in April.

Mass transit has long been an interest of mine. In fact, until my term ended in December, I was chair of the SamTrans Citizen’s Advisory Committee. I’ve long tried to bridge a gap between riders and providers and think quick surveys such as this are needed to provide critical information.

The issue of transit itself is critical to San Francisco State University, with the need for improvement cited as a critical issue in SFSU’s Master Plan. Like a commentator on my post, I was surprised at the number of students who simply said, “I have a car, why would I take a bus?” I was happy to broach the issue with the San Francisco Beat community.

I was also happy to finally learn GarageBand, which has literally been on my to-do list for years. I think the skills I learned on this assignment will come in handy in the future.

Other highlights of this class include:

Learning to post Google charts online, such as this one including data from the Pew Internet Research Center. This chart shows the percentage of Internet users and adults as a whole, who have engaged in a variety of online health interactions.

I learned how to edit together “man on the street” interviews, such as this one asking Sara Donchey, Kelly Goff, Caitlin Olson, Chris Haire and Thomas Garcia about the Royal Wedding:

I also learned other Flickr techniques, such as finding pictures licensed under creative commons, like this Royal Wedding photo taken by Aurelien Guichard from Hyde Park on the day of the event.
Royal Wedding

Leave a Reply

